November: Epilepsy Awareness month

November is Epilepsy Awareness Month. I have talked about my diagnosis and experience with Epilepsy here , here , and here . I was diagnosed at the age of 23 and I have been seizure free since October 2011. There is no cure for Epilepsy and medication is what keeps me from having seizures.

Epilepsy can occur in any one person at anytime. I do not have a family history of Epilepsy and have always been very healthy. My epilepsy was a genetic mutation that likely happened while my mom was pregnant and was not due to anything she had done while pregnant. There is no known reason for why it took so long for any noticeable symptoms to develop. I can tell you that I remember having absence seizures back around the time when I was 18. Since they were not what I knew as a seizure, I just let them go for a while.

Please find out what you can do to help raise awareness this month. You may not currently know anyone with Epilepsy now, but chances are, you will eventually. Don’t wait!

If you would like to know what to do if you encounter someone having a seizure then please visit the Epilepsy Foundation’s website for detailed information.

 

epilepsy.2

Both of us were diagnosed with Epilepsy as young adults. His diagnosis was at the young age of 20 and happened within the last year.

 

8 thoughts on “November: Epilepsy Awareness month

  1. Thanks for the info Chris! Its always good to know about this stuff!

    P.S. sorry for not being around lately Ive been swamped since I got back. Im now catching up on posts :). You better had missed meeeee!!!

Leave a Reply

