Fitness/Healthy Eating Update

Last week I took a break from tracking my food and paying attention to what I was eating. I took a break that was needed for my mental health. When I track my food and have one cheat meal a week it feels like I am obsessing about food almost. I have been in this 12-week program for about 7 weeks now and it was starting to make me hate the process. Rather than just quit all together I planned a break and took the week to be “free”.

Some may not agree with taking an entire week out of healthy eating when one is actively trying to lose weight. I can agree to an extent with that. It can be difficult to follow through with the plan of returning to healthy eating after a week-long break. It can also be tempting to over-indulge while on the ‘break’ and lose ground. I did not eat terrible all day, everyday, I simply allowed myself to eat food that I wanted and did not track it. I did not gain any weight nor did I lose weight last week. I am fine with that.

Yesterday was my first day logging food again and it was tough. I did have some cravings to fight off after taking my time off and my mind almost allowed me to slip back. Our mind has more power than any other muscle in our body. It is important to work toward controlling our minds so that we can accomplish the goals that we have set.

While I did not track my food at all last week I still worked out and made sure to sweat and burn off some of that delicious food I was putting in my mouth. Last night I did 10 minutes on the stair climber and I ran 1 mile. I needed to get some good cardio in to start the week out on a positive note. Later that evening I took my son to the park and as it was getting dark he wanted to run the track. I had on flip flops.. Usually he can run and I can stay a bit behind him and still see him. That doesn’t work anymore. He now wants me to run with him. He says “Mommy, you have to run, you need to get some exercise.” Where does he come up with this stuff? As he continues to grow up I can see him keeping me in shape whether I want to or not.

Working out and eating healthy can be a challenge sometimes. No one is perfect. If you are struggling with either just take it one day/one temptation at a time. Every victory pushes you closer to where you want to be.

Tuesdays I usually struggle with a topic to discuss. With that being said, I think that I will start using Tuesdays as a fitness/healthy food check-in day. What do you guys think?

joshy.3

6 thoughts on “Fitness/Healthy Eating Update

  1. I think Tuesdays for health and fitness sounds fabulous 🙂 I am in the minority where I think taking a week off from healthy eating is a-ok! you didn’t pig out, you just ate what you wanted and didn’t track it. you still worked out. sometimes you just need a break, and you’ve been going at it so hard! i cannot track the food i eat – i either obsess over it and binge, or i obsess over it and try to eat less than 500 calories a day. so i just try and make smart decisions and make sure to work out. sometimes it is easy sometimes it isn’t!

    • Thanks girl! It really is a challenge to pay attention to what food goes into my mouth. It can be frustrating when I am trying to work on my fitness. All food should be healthy. Geez! lol

  2. I agree with you. There’s nothing wrong with taking a break. We are all made up of mind, body, and souls and sometimes when one needs a break the others have to follow suit. Having peace and eliminating stress is of utmost importance. 🙂
    Tuesdays for a fitness update is a good idea too.

Leave a Reply

