9/11/2011

Where were you? It was the 10th anniversary of 9/11 and I was in labor all day long. I had already missed my due date and I was miserable the entire day. I tried to hold off so that he would not be born on 9/11 but at 11:56PM I just could not wait any longer and my baby boy was born. Fast forward to last year right before his 2nd birthday.

3This is what he looked like right before I cut his hair, a week before turning two.

Now here we are, one year later and my son is now a three year old; barely resembling the baby boy that once was. Looking more and more like he belongs in an elementary school classroom. Especially since he is so dang tall. His personality comes in more every day and I can tell you, he loves to laugh and make others laugh. This kid even tries blowing his nose on my arm because he thinks my reaction is hilarious. He has succeeded at this. Disgusting. It was funny though, I gotta give it to him.

33Such a handsome young man.

Sometimes I just wish I had more time to enjoy his young personality; appreciating his extensive three-year old vocabulary. It’s funny to me that the only word he really struggles to say is balloon. He calls them babboons. The other day when I picked him up from daycare they told me he was singing drunk in love and when they asked him if he knew who sang it he replied. Beyoncé. Now that’s my son for sure. I have recently switched to songs that won’t sound so bad when sang in public. maybe.

This morning he was telling me all about his birthday and how there is no more two. At one point he even said, I don’t want to be three. Look at him, hating the aging process already. I can’t say I blame him. Raising a child can be frustrating and irritating at times, but when I look into that sweet face there is nothing else I would rather be doing. Sometimes I feel like I am exploding on the inside because I have no idea what I am doing or if I am doing it right. Only time will tell. One thing is for sure. My son will always be loved and feel that love.

If I succeed at nothing else, I want to be sure that my son understands how to love himself first, and then how to love others. The value of human life and what you can learn from others, even if they are different is something I hope to give him. I want him to be better than me.

I don’t know why I am crying thinking about my son growing up. Maybe its because I never knew I could love like this and the feeling is so overwhelming. Either way, I am thankful for everyday with him and I know that this year will go just as fast and my baby will be 4. He has a fabulous birthday party this weekend that I will post next week.

3.1Take some time to remember those we lost on 9/11/2001

8 thoughts on “9/11/2011

  1. they grow SO fast. it feels that they were born yesterday and then you blink and they’re suddenly WAY older and it’s always surprising how you can look at them from day to day and actually SEE how they’ve changed, physically. it’s exciting yet heartbreaking at the same time.

    i always tease kayla and tell her that her “pause” button is broken so i’ll press it again (her belly button) and she giggles and laughs.

    happy birthday to your darling boy!

    • It is. I love to see how much he learns every single day. It almost makes me feel that I should be learning more, but then I’m like, nope. I went to school long enough for that. lol

      That pause button is a cute idea too. These kids do bring great joy to our lives.

  2. you are such a good mother! your son is adorable, and i hope i can be half the parent you are 🙂 it is so true, i want them to love themselves and others, so important.
    random kinda related: i was due friday the 13th and my dad took my mum to the hospital on the 12th and said ‘get that baby out, now’ and they did. crazy, right?

    • Thank you! You will do absolutely great! I question myself all the time but when I hear things like that it makes me feel like I am doing something right. I don’t blame your dad either, I would have avoided that date as well lol.

Leave a Reply

