I love food…

Today, I am on week 2 of my diet bet and I am going to my 2nd class of 12 weeks called Weigh to Wellness that my employer is offering free of charge. We will be learning about nutrition and different methods of fitness to assist in the weight loss process. There are prizes and there is a winner so of course this is the challenge for me. I must say, I am nervous but I am more motivated then I have been in awhile. Just yesterday I had to resist a gigantic chocolate cake, a tray of lovely cheese cubes and sausage, cookies, crackers, cokes, all of the things that are so good especially when they are free. Then when I got home last night and put my son to bed it was around 9:15 and I wanted to eat something. I resisted. I am proud of myself.

healthy.2

If you are currently eating healthy or trying to and you have to resist food and temptation everyday then I applaud you. This is not easy. At all. It is easier for me to run everyday than to not eat food. I’m sure I have mentioned this before. Why does food have to be a temptation? I do not drink alcohol (wine very, very rarely), I do not smoke, I do not do drugs. Why can’t I eat food that tastes delicious in the portion that is suggested and not gain weight? Why can’t those foods give me abs?

healthy.3

I’ll tell you why, because with everything in life, if you want it, you have to work for it. The work is not easy but the payoff will be. I do not feel that I have much to do, I mainly just need to tone up and drop about 10-15 pounds to make my neurologist smile and lower the dosage on my epilepsy medication. I do not see him again until February but I want to hit the goal before that. Last time I saw him I was suppose to have lost the weight and I did not. He is not concerned with my weight but if I want to lower the dosage than I have to lower the number on the scale. Ahh, math.

healthy.1

I have some recipes that I make regularly that are pretty healthy but I need some more. What are your healthy yet delicious recipes? I want to eat food that tastes amazing all while fueling my body in the healthiest possible way.

healthy

10 thoughts on “I love food…

  1. Ahhhhh, girl, I feel you. The 21 day sugar detox I did back in June was HARD, and I was surrounded by so many temptations. But you’re right, if you want something you have to work for it. It sounds like with the class you are taking, you are in the right direction. It’s not easy, but I’m sure being on a lower dose of your anti-seizure med will make you and your doctor both very very happen. Don’t be hard on yourself if you slip up now any then, you’re human, and don’t make unrealistic goals! I’m not home right now, but I’ll scan some of the recipes from my sugar detox book and email them to you. Some of the were really good!

  2. i feel you 😦 i have such a bad relationship with food, and i slip up way too often. sometimes i take baby steps, like right now i am giving up soda. 9 days in, go me! but i had gluten in the last week (im not supposed to) and whenever i eat gluten i eat lots of junk, so… 2 days of no gluten so far, go me, its so hard to get the ball rolling but once you’ve got a couple weeks under your belt i think it becomes a little easier.
    i have no help on the healthy recipes really, but if you find some good ones, feel free to share! i am in such a rut right now with cooking, i have had cereal for dinner the last 2 nights!

    • Oh yes. It is a full on struggle every single day. If I get some recipes I will certainly share them with everyone. I too enjoy being lazy and not cooking, takes effort. lol.

  3. I am a lazy chef too. But there are a lot of veggies you can make that don’t require a lot of prep time. I love brussel sprouts — all I do is coat them in Olive Oil, salt, and pepper, and then put in the oven at 350 for about 20 minutes. I do the same with zucchini, squash, and carrot slices. I also like cooking ground turkey and seasoning it with whatever, and using the meat for homemade lettuce wraps!

    Your relationship with food seems like my relationship with alcohol. Ugh :/ Hang in there girl!

    • That is a good idea on the vegetables. Thanks for sharing, also, I love the idea on the lettuce wraps. Will def be doing that next time I go to the grocery store.

      We all have our vices and you are doing great! Stick with you. I know you can do this.

  4. Temptation would have won for me. Chocolate cake, sausage, and CHEESE?! I wouldn’t even stand a chance. Cheese is healthier than candy so you shouldn’t be too hard on yourself about that. I’m not big on the healthy eating train because I can’t resist bacon and eggs and cheese and sausage (can you tell it’s breakfast time right now and I’m hungry?) but there was this one quick wrap recipe I used to make when I was younger (ahh those were the days) that was sooo delicious: the California Lettuce Wrap. It’s actually a South Beach Diet recipe and it was perfect for lunch and for a post-workout snack.

    If I find or think of any others, I’ll be sure to let you know!

    • Girl, it has been tough. I have been the biggest jerk to my boyfriend because I just can’t handle my life right now. I LOVE breakfast. I even make it for dinner about once per week because it is so delicious. I will def. try those lettuce wraps and if I try new recipes, I will share those also.

Leave a Reply

