Goals: If 50 cent can do it, so can you

I had something creative prepared for you today but I’d rather talk about goal setting.

accountability

As of late I have been making excuses for not accomplishing goals that I have set. This hurts no one, except for me. So why? Why continue to set goals and not accomplish them? I have come to the conclusion that it is out of fear. I’m afraid of failing so I stop before I even get to the point of failure. Then, when I sit down and really think about it I still want to complete those goals.

accountability.1

It seems pretty simple really. Set a goal, take the steps required, complete goal. It isn’t however. If the goals that are being set are not realistic, than the goal will not be accomplished at all. Many of you have heard of the SMART method of goal setting I presume. If not, here it is.

accountability.3

I first saw this when I was a freshman in college and have had it reiterated to me many times throughout my professional career. I’ve even had full training sessions on just this acronym. The one aspect where I fall short most often? The Achievable section. I set goals that are too large without enough time to accomplish. Therefore I am going to try to set smaller goals over a longer period of time working toward the overall outcome. Here is a brief example.

Rapper 50 cent woke up one day and posted an Instagram video about boxer Floyd Mayweather calling him out. 50 cent was not having it, so he set a goal to embarrass Mayweather.

Specific: Embarrass Floyd Mayweather

Measurable: When Mayweather stops responding, victory has been achieved

Achievable: Proven record of relentlessness and embarrassment of other former friends (see also, Ja Rule)

Relevant: Must maintain credibility as a no crap taking, strong armed, formerly shot nine-times but survived, tall and muscular rapper.

Time-bound: Must complete in time for Jimmy Kimmel reading challenge.

50 cent has a plan. He challeneged Mayweather to read one page from a Harry Potter book on Jimmy Kimmel live and 50 would donate $750,000 to charity. Mayweather retaliated with the following pictures and caption

“Read this $72,276,000.00. God bless.”

accountability.4

Did 50 cent give up because he met a challenge? No. What did he do? He responded respectfully by saying “I guess you want people to see your math is better then your reading. Get a account Floyd, the people around you are using you. If you mad at me call me or come see me,” in an instagram video. 50 cent also decided to lower the reading challenge to a Cat in the Hat book to make it more fair.

accountability.5

Floyd hasn’t responded but it appears that 50 Cent may soon reach his goal. I hope this example was helpful and that we can all start to set goals that are SMART. Have a happy Tuesday.

 

8 thoughts on “Goals: If 50 cent can do it, so can you

  1. hahaha this is hilarious! i dont know, or like, either of them and i am confused about the checks he wrote, is that supposed to be to charity? good luck on your goals, i suck at making and meeting my own.

Leave a Reply

