Epilepsy Awareness walk…pictures!

Can you tell that I am a bit obsessed with taking pictures. I even have a DSLR camera but I hate carrying that gigantic thing around and then putting the pictures on my computer and blah blah. I’m lazy. I’ll do better the rest of the summer I promise.

Saturday was the 2014 Walk Around Kentucky for Epilepsy at the Louisville Zoo. The walk is done at about 5 different locations in Kentucky in an effort to raise money and awareness about Epilepsy. Here are some random factoids for you peeps.

  • Epilepsy is a disorder that is characterized by recurring neurological seizures
  • There are over 20 different types of seizures
  • More than 2.5 million people in the US and 40 million worldwide have some form of epilepsy.
  • A person can be diagnosed with epilepsy at any point in their life
  • There is no cure for Epilepsy
  • One in every 10 Americans will have at least one seizure in their lifetime, and 1 in 26 people will be diagnosed with epilepsy

How’s that for dropping some knowledge on you. Didn’t think you could learn anything from this random blog huh? The one in bold is the most important to me because Epilepsy research is so underfunded yet effects so many people. About 70% of Epilepsy cases have no known cause, as is the case with my diagnosis. I got all of this information from the Epilepsy Foundation of Kentucky. Check out the website and learn some more! YAY for learning!

epilepsy.1

On to the walk. I walked with a friend from high school named Erica (pictured above) and her family this year. Her brother is 24 years old and was diagnosed with Epilepsy this year. He is very young and vibrant, happily taking on the challenge that has been handed to him. His name is Justin. (I was terrible at getting people to participate this year because it was my bday and I was being selfish, I’ll do better next year.) The people with Epilepsy wear purple shirts (purple is the color of epilepsy) and everyone else wear white t-shirts.

epilepsy.2They went with a superhero theme for their group

When you arrive at the zoo between 8-9 you get to register and then go hang out and eat some breakfast. The sponsors of this event do not hold back at all! They provide breakfast from Panera Bread and Chic Fila just to name drop a bit. You basically get to walk around the zoo at your own leisure until 11am at which point you meet back up for lunch. The sponsors throw down for lunch as well with all the delicious fats you can eat. All of the kids that come get a toy and they have drawings for all participants usually drawing out about 40 names. In addition, you win prizes based on how much money you have raised which is also fantastic. They mean business around these parts. Total they raised about $60,000 if I remember correctly.

epilepsy.3Looks like I am squatting to take a huge poo while holding an imaginary baby.

It was seriously the best time and I am so happy I decided to do it even if it was a last minute decision. My son loved the zoo and all of the people were amazing. Check your local area to see how you can help raise awareness for Epilepsy. Like I said before, diagnosis can happen at anytime so even if you don’t know anyone with Epilepsy now, that can change very  quickly. I was diagnosed at the age of 23 and Justin was diagnosed at the age of 24. Let’s get serious people!

epilepsy.4Goat selfie! So thankful this guy didn’t decide to head but me

epilepsy.5Elephant butt hugs

The Hump Day Blog Hop
6 thoughts on “Epilepsy Awareness walk…pictures!

  1. Looks so fun! & it’s great that you are doing it for a good cause! Every year, we go on a lupus walk for a friend who was diagnosed a few years back.. its a great time and it makes my friend feel empowered- which is so awesome to me!

  2. Elephant butt hugs LMAO I cracked up reading that!

    Such a great cause Im glad you are raising awareness 🙂 My son has a rare kidney disease and I am hoping I can find a run or walk for that.

Leave a Reply

